

West) to describe the location of features and routes on a map.

## What should I already know?

- That the United Kingdom is made up of four countries: **England, Wales, Scotland** and **Northern Ireland**.
- The United Kingdom is surrounded by four seas: The North Sea, The Irish Sea, The Celtic Sea and the English Channel.

Key vocabulary	Definition
- City	A large town that usually has a cathedral.
- Country	A large area of land where people live under the same Government.
- British Isles	Great Britain, Ireland and all nearby islands.
- Continent	A group of countries on one large expanse of land.
- United Kingdom	England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
- Coast	The land next to the ocean.
- Capital city	The main city in a country, usually where the Government is located.
- Compass	An instrument used to show North.
- Environment	A particular geographical area.

## I need to know:

- The United Kingdom is made up of four countries and surrounded by four seas



• The world is made up of seven continents and five oceans.

Continents	Oceans
Europe	Arctic Ocean
Africa	Atlantic Ocean
Asia	Pacific Ocean
Australasia	Indian Ocean
North America	Southern Ocean
South America	
Antarctica	

- The four main points of the compass are North, East, South and West.

